TOP

臺灣國際熱氣球嘉年華 Taiwan International Balloon Festival

The Story of Taitung Hot Air Balloons

(I)Background

Hot Air Balloons
Taitung's tourism development has long been limited by its transportation problems, making tourism enhancement merely a slogan that fails to create real economic value. Located in the southeastern corner of Taiwan, accessing Taitung is inconvenient, requiring long-distance travel times via railway and highways. Difficulty in obtaining train tickets and expensive airfare contribute to isolating Taitung from the rest of Taiwan and manifesting disadvantages for developing domestic tourism. Moreover, private sector investment was often discouraged upon considering transportation costs, which further hindered the development of the tourism industry in Taitung County. On the other hand, the tourism activities in Taitung seemed to be conducted as just a mere formality, short-lived and lacking innovation, thus mitigating the attractiveness and appeal for tourists.
An opportunity lies in every crisis." With the gradual decline in popularity of the decade-old paragliding activity in Luye Township, a new turning point for Taitung emerged. The County Government began evaluating which direction was needed for transforming Taitung – it aspired to develop unique and eye-catching international tourism activities. Therefore, owing to years of experience conducting seasonal air-based activities, the new elements of international hot air ballooning coalesced to manifest the first Taiwan International Balloon Festival in 2011.
Hot Air Balloons Avtive

(II) Evolution of the Event

Hot Air Balloons
Since launching the Taiwan International Balloon Festival in 2011, the Taitung County Government expunged simply conducting short-lived events and shifted to focus on local economic development. As of September 2011, there has been a gradual and steady implementation of international standards in terms of decrees, personnel training, and hot-air balloons.In 2012, there was no additional support for this emerging event, and yet the festival still managed to grow five-fold, and its duration was extended to two months - making it the longest hot air balloon festival in the world. Besides attracting 880 thousand tourists and creating a tourism output value up to NTD$ 2 billion, Taiwan began to have its own internationally certified pilots and hot air balloons and continued to march towards the expansion of the event.
The success of the 2013 festival triggered a craze for hot-air balloon activities in Taiwan with many counties and cities competed to hold balloon festivals. These further expanded the benefits produced from hosting the Taiwan International Balloon Festival and initiated the first step of international integration and exchanges. For the first time, Taiwan's balloons were invited to Australia and Taiwanese pilots also took this opportunity to go overseas to learn and communicate. Meanwhile, due to safety and professionalism, Taiwan's balloon activities matured steadily. In the same year, Taiwan’s first commercial free-flight balloon ride was put into trial operation. Tourists from Taiwan and neighboring countries were able to enjoy a high-quality flight experience in Taiwan rather than need to travel to Turkey, Australia, East Africa, etc.
Hot Air Balloons into sky
Skyrainbow Airlines
Skyrainbow Airlines, Taiwan’s only hot air balloon business, was established in 2014 to facilitate the dream of hot air ballooning taking root in Taitung. Its operations enforced the air-based leisure industry and paved the way for developing hot air ballooning in Taiwan and a new path for tourism. Inviting hot air balloons from multiple countries such as Malaysia, the Philippines, Canada, the Netherlands, and Belgium has propelled hot air ballooning in Taiwan onto an international stage and connection with the international community.
From the point of inception to prosperity, rapidly increasing international recognition was achieved yielding a palpable and beautiful transformation. The event was further solidified in 2015, bringing fans ten special-themed hot air balloon events, but it didn’t stop there. In 2016, continuing to raise the bar, the first hot air balloon competition was held. This competition invited expert pilots from around the world to participate at Luye Highlands. Special-shaped hot air balloons from around the world were gathered in 2017, constituting the highest number ever assembled in history. This riveting year attracted 480 thousand people over the 38-day festival. The event in 2018 was also brilliant. In response to public request, the festival was extended by seven days, attracting 910 thousand visitors and generating NTD$ 2 billion of output value. Travel Channel, the prestigious tourism channel, named the Taiwan International Balloon Festival as one of the top 12 hot air balloon festivals around the world.
台東球

(III) Summary

與熱氣球合照
Transportation inconvenience is an inherent restriction facing Taitung, but by hosting hot air balloon events over recent years, Taitung has successfully reinvented itself. The tourism industry is flourishing, along with the associated service industries which have been positively impacted and benefitted. Getting tourists to see Taitung as the must-visit destination based on its advantages and making hot air balloons a sustainable tourism powerhouse are the keys to revitalizing Taitung's economy and creating real output value.

Corporate sponsors

Top

跳到主要內容區塊 TOP

臺灣國際熱氣球嘉年華 Taiwan International Balloon Festival

定位點

臺東熱氣球故事

(一)緣由

熱氣球升空
台東長期觀光發展因交通受侷限,使觀光產業化更淪為口號,無法創造實質經濟價值。台東地處邊陲,長期鐵、公路交通不便,火車票一票難求,飛機票價昂貴,因聯外交通不便,讓台東似處於孤島狀態,致發展國內旅遊觀光相對劣勢,加上私部門對台東觀光產業之投資,多因交通成本考量而卻步,更侷限本縣觀光發展;另一方面,台東的觀光活動長期流於形式化、煙火式,亦欠缺獨特性,降低讓遊客願意停駐的誘因。
「危機即是轉機」當台東縣鹿野鄉發展近10年的飛行傘活動熱度逐漸減退時,翻轉台東的新契機出現了,縣府團隊開始思索轉型方向,從發展獨特且吸睛之國際觀光活動為努力目標。因此,在2011年以舉辦多年的想飛的季節空域活動為基礎,加入新的國際空域活動元素-熱氣球,舉辦台灣首屆熱氣球嘉年華活動。
光雕晚會

(二)活動進化史

與熱氣球合照
自2011年台東開始辦理全台第一場熱氣球嘉年華活動,縣府跳脫短暫、煙火的活動,帶動在地經濟發展;遂在2011年9月就法令、人員培訓、熱氣球載具等方式朝國際標準、以「蹲馬步」方式逐步落實;2012年在新興活動無更多奧援下,活動仍有5倍規模成長,活動期延長至2個月,成為全世界最長的熱氣球節,除了吸引88萬旅遊人次、創下高達20億的觀光產值外,台灣開始有國際認證的台籍飛行員及熱氣球,續往活動產業化之目標邁進;
2013年活動的成功,引爆國內追逐熱氣球的風潮,各縣市爭相辦理熱氣球活動下,台灣熱氣球嘉年華效益持續成長,與國際接軌、交流的腳步也同時邁出第一步,台灣熱氣球首度受邀前往澳洲,台灣飛行員更藉此機會,走出國際學習及交流,台灣熱氣球也在安全、專業的基礎下,發展日益成熟,當年度國內首創商業性自由飛行空中遊覽活動試營運,讓來自台灣各地及周邊國家的旅客不必搭飛機到土耳其、澳洲、東非等國家就可在台灣享受到高品質的飛行體驗;
熱氣球升空
天際航空
2014年進一步實現熱氣球在臺東紮根的夢想,設立飛行夢工廠、全台唯一以熱氣球經營為主的天際航空公司設立並營運,落實空域休閒產業,開啟臺灣熱氣球發展及台灣旅遊嶄新的階段,台灣熱氣球更加國際化,台灣球受邀前往馬來西亞、菲律賓、加拿大、荷蘭、比利時,真正與國際接軌。從率先引進熱氣球繽紛了臺灣的天空開始,歷經五年的努力與淬練後,我們築夢踏實終於讓熱氣球產業化了,
從萌芽到茁壯,以時間換取空間來迅速提高國際知名度的階段已經完成,美麗的蛻變將有新局,2015年更是首次將活動濃縮,帶給球迷最夯的10大熱氣球特色活動,但精彩不減的一年!2016年再度挑戰自我,首度辦理熱氣球挑戰賽事,邀集全世界各地的熱氣球好手,齊聚鹿野高台相互較勁;2017年邀集了世界各地造型逗趣的熱氣球,係為歷屆以來最多顆造型球,吸睛程度百分百,短短38天,即創下48萬旅遊人次;2018活動精彩連連,為回應民眾需求,將整體活動時間延長七天,遊客人數達91萬,並創造出20億元的產值效益,當年更獲世界知名旅遊頻道Travel Channel評選為世界12大令人驚豔的熱氣球嘉年華活動之一。
台東球

(三)總結

與熱氣球合照
台東交通的不便是先天限制,但近年來台東成功以熱氣球翻轉台東,觀光相觀產業蓬勃發展,週邊附屬民生產業也隨著水漲船高,如何從台東的優勢裡,創造遊客非來不可的理由,讓熱氣球能成為觀光產業,且能永續發展,才是振興台東經濟,創造實質產值的關鍵。

合作夥伴

Top